Christmas, Food, Recipes Blogged by: Casuarina Square 20 Nov 2020

Festive food traditions to make your Christmas special

Things have looked a little different in 2020. Gatherings are different, celebrations are different, spending time together is different. But the magic of Christmas prevails!

When you come together with family and friends this Christmas, you can bring some of the Christmas magic together by celebrating old traditions (and new ones!). Why not get everyone to bring a dish and a tradition that means something to them? Or, use these ideas to try something new.

Here are a few festive ideas to get your Christmas bells jingling.
 

The coin in the pudding

This tradition dates back to even the early 13th century, where items like a wishbone would be hidden in a pudding as a token of good luck for the finder. Is it safe to put a coin in? Well… copper (as they used to), not so much. Silver is much better however consider do that small coins are a choking hazard. Perhaps you could adapt the tradition and hide a small silicon Christmas shaped cookie cutter or similar?
 

Eggnog

‘Nogs’ (milk and wine based punches), date back to the 17th century and were made for celebrations to toast to health. They’ve adapted to frothy egg, milk and sugar drinks mixed with bourbon or rum. 2020 is a good year to toast to health we think!
 

Nanna’s Christmas Trifle

Have someone bring a ‘blast from the past’ dish. What was ever better than Nanna’s Christmas trifle? Aeroplane jelly, custard, sponge cake… droooool. Why not make a new take on an old classic, like this individual serves of trifle layered up in a glass.
 

Gingerbread

Gingerbread has been a Christmas treat since at least the Victorian era. Gingerbread houses came about after Hansel and Gretel was published by the Grimm brothers. Since, gingerbread houses are one of the most tasty Christmas treats you can make with the family. While you make the house, why not hide a few surprises inside? Little scrolls with Christmas jokes, little elf toys, little sweets… make it fun and fabulous!
 

Rum Balls and Coffee

When the kids are asleep (or in front of a Christmas movie), it’s time for the grown ups to enjoy some rum balls and coffee! Sit back, relax and indulge together.
 

A meal for Santa and his reindeer

We can’t forget the main man and his reindeer! We often leave out some cookies and milk for Santa, but don’t forget the reindeer! Oats and edible glitter make a fun reindeer feast!

This year, more than ever is a time to celebrate tradition, togetherness, everything that truly matters.
 
Opening hours
The Quarter | Open 7 days until late
Christmas Trading Hours 2020
Tue, 17 Dec 2019 - 9am - 7pm
Mon, 14 Dec 2020 - 9am - 7pm
Tue, 15 Dec 2020 - 9am - 7pm
Wed, 16 Dec 2020 - 9am - 7pm
Fri, 18 Dec 2020 - 9am - 9pm
Sat, 19 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5pm
Sun, 20 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5pm
Mon, 21 Dec 2020 - 9am - 8pm
Tue, 22 Dec 2020 - 9am - 8pm
Wed, 23 Dec 2020 - 9am - 8pm
Thu, 24 Dec 2020 - 9am - 6pm
Fri, 25 Dec 2020 - Closed
Sat, 26 Dec 2020 - 9am - 6pm
Sun, 27 Dec 2020 - 10am - 3pm
Mon, 28 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5.30pm
Tue, 29 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5.30pm
Wed, 30 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5.30pm
Thu, 31 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5.30pm
Fri, 01 Jan 2021 - Closed
Sat, 02 Jan 2021 - 9am - 5pm
REGULAR TRADING HOURS
Mon - 9am - 5.30pm
Tue - 9am - 5.30pm
Wed - 9am - 5.30pm
Thu - 9am - 5.30pm
Fri - 9am - 9pm
Sat - 9am - 5pm
Sun - 10am - 3pm
Location
Casuarina Square
247 Trower Road
Casuarina NT 0810
Phone: 08 8920 2345