Food Blogged by: Casuarina Square 28 Oct 2020

Beet Pesto, Parmesan and Pine Nut Canapes


These tasty and vibrant canapes are crowd pleasers. They are delicious, incredibly simple to make and (shhhh…) rather inexpensive.
 
Ingredients
(serves 10-14)
Crackers (anything flat and sturdy enough to hold topping)
3 beets, trimmed, roughly chopped and roasted
¾ cup walnuts
250 mls extra virgin olive oil
1 cup pine nuts, toasted
1 cup shredded parmesan cheese
½ cup grated parmesan cheese
3 tbsp fresh lime juice and zest of one lime
Sea salt and cracked pepper to taste
 
Method
• To roast the beets, wash and pat dry, trim the ends, chop into rough cubes and roast in an oven preheated to 200°C or 180°C fan-forced
• To make the pesto, combine the beets, walnuts, olive oil, parmesan and lime juice and zest in a food processor. Pulse until well combined. The paste should have some texture and not be runny. Season with sea salt and pepper to taste.
• Place crackers on a serving platter, and top with one teaspoon of the pesto.
• Garnish with toasted pine nuts, shaved parmesan and some watercress.Tip: The pesto can be made a few days ahead and stored in the fridge, ready to go.

Nutrition Information
Per Serve
Energy 1626kJ (387kcal)
Protein 7.3g
Fat – total 38.8g / saturated 5.9g
Carbohydrate – total 2.7g / sugars 2.5g
Dietary fibre 2.3g
Sodium 147mg
Opening hours
The Quarter | Open 7 days until late
Christmas Trading Hours 2020
Tue, 17 Dec 2019 - 9am - 7pm
Mon, 14 Dec 2020 - 9am - 7pm
Tue, 15 Dec 2020 - 9am - 7pm
Wed, 16 Dec 2020 - 9am - 7pm
Fri, 18 Dec 2020 - 9am - 9pm
Sat, 19 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5pm
Sun, 20 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5pm
Mon, 21 Dec 2020 - 9am - 8pm
Tue, 22 Dec 2020 - 9am - 8pm
Wed, 23 Dec 2020 - 9am - 8pm
Thu, 24 Dec 2020 - 9am - 6pm
Fri, 25 Dec 2020 - Closed
Sat, 26 Dec 2020 - 9am - 6pm
Sun, 27 Dec 2020 - 10am - 3pm
Mon, 28 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5.30pm
Tue, 29 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5.30pm
Wed, 30 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5.30pm
Thu, 31 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5.30pm
Fri, 01 Jan 2021 - Closed
Sat, 02 Jan 2021 - 9am - 5pm
REGULAR TRADING HOURS
Mon - 9am - 5.30pm
Tue - 9am - 5.30pm
Wed - 9am - 5.30pm
Thu - 9am - 5.30pm
Fri - 9am - 9pm
Sat - 9am - 5pm
Sun - 10am - 3pm
Location
Casuarina Square
247 Trower Road
Casuarina NT 0810
Phone: 08 8920 2345